Browsed by
Tag: Young Adult

Book Review: Triangles by Kimberly Ann Miller

Book Review: Triangles by Kimberly Ann Miller

Title: Triangles Author: Kimberly Ann Miller Series: Bermuda Triangle, Book 1 Publisher: Spencer Hill Press E-book: 216 pages Source: Own Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A cruise ship. A beautiful island. Two sexy guys. What could possibly go wrong? In the Bermuda Triangle–a lot.Hoping to leave behind the reminders of her crappy life–her fathers death years ago, her mothers medical problems, and the loser whos practically stalking her–seventeen-year-old Autumn Taylor hops on a ship with her sister for a little distraction. When she wakes up in the…

Read More Read More

Wishlist Wednesday #30: Pitch Dark by Courtney Alameda

Wishlist Wednesday #30: Pitch Dark by Courtney Alameda

This meme was created by Pen to Paper. Each week we will share a book that has been recently added to our wishlist or has been on it for ages. How’s this for a Valentine’s day feature? :p I won this book from one of NovelKnight’s awesome giveaways and I’m excited to be able to read it. I love science fiction, and the cover tells me it might be a creepy read. Title: Pitch Dark Author: Courtney Alameda Publisher: Feiwel & Friends…

Read More Read More

Book Review: In Real Life by Cory Doctorow & Jen Wang

Book Review: In Real Life by Cory Doctorow & Jen Wang

Title: In Real Life Author: Cory Doctorow Illustrations: Jen Wang Publisher: Square Fish Paperback: 192 pages Source: NetGalley Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Anda loves Coarsegold Online, the massively-multiplayer role-playing game where she spends most of her free time. It’s a place where she can be a leader, a fighter, a hero. It’s a place where she can meet people from all over the world, and make friends. But things become a lot more complicated when Anda befriends a gold farmer–a poor Chinese kid whose avatar…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Rebel Bully Geek Pariah by Erin Jade Lange

Book Review: Rebel Bully Geek Pariah by Erin Jade Lange

Title: Rebel Bully Geek Pariah Author: Erin Jade Lange Publisher: Bloomsbury Hardcover: 320 pages Source: Goodreads Giveaways Summary: (taken from Goodreads) “The Breakfast Club” gets a modern, high-stakes reboot in this story of four very different teens and a night that changes them forever. The Rebel: Once popular, Andi is now a dreadlocked, tattooed wild child. The Bully: York torments everyone who crosses his path, especially his younger brother. The Geek: Tired of being bullied, Boston is obsessed with getting into an Ivy League college….

Read More Read More

Book Review: Thirteenth Child by Patricia C. Wrede

Book Review: Thirteenth Child by Patricia C. Wrede

Title: Thirteenth Child Author: Patricia C. Wrede Series: Frontier Magic, Book 1 Publisher: Scholastic Press Hardcover: 344 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Eff was born a thirteenth child. Her twin brother, Lan, is the seventh son of a seventh son. This means he’s supposed to possess amazing talent — and she’s supposed to bring only bad things to her family and her town. Undeterred, her family moves to the frontier, where her father will be a professor of magic at a school perilously…

Read More Read More

Wishlist Wednesday #29: Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce

Wishlist Wednesday #29: Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce

This meme was created by Pen to Paper. Each week we will share a book that has been recently added to our wishlist or has been on it for ages. Tamora Pierce has long been a favorite of mine, and I’m excited to see that she’s working on a Tortall Universe series about Numair. This brings me right back into adolescent excitement and I can’t wait to read this. It releases in just under a week!!! Title: Tempests and Slaughter…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Gates of Paradise by Melissa de la Cruz

Book Review: Gates of Paradise by Melissa de la Cruz

Title: Gates of Paradise Author: Melissa de la Cruz Series: Blue Bloods, Book 7 Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Hardcover: 355 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from The Book Depository Schuyler Van Alen is running out of time. The Dark Prince of Hell is storming the Gates of Paradise, intent on winning the heavenly throne for good. This time he has his greatest angels by his side, Abbadon and Azrael—Jack and Mimi Force, as they are known in the Coven. Or so he thinks….

Read More Read More

Book Review: Chronicles of Chrestomanci, Vol 2 by Diana Wynne Jones

Book Review: Chronicles of Chrestomanci, Vol 2 by Diana Wynne Jones

Title: Chronicles of Chrestomanci, Vol 2 Author: Diana Wynne Jones Series: Chrestomanci, 3-4 Publisher: Greenwillow Books Paperback: 560 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from The Book Depository In this multiple parallel universes of the Twelve Related Worlds, only an enchanter with nine lives is powerful enough to control the rampant misuse of magic — and to hold the title Chrestomanci… There is a world in which the peaceful city-state of Caprona is threatened by the malevolent machinations of a mysterious enchanter…and another…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Forever by Judy Blume

Book Review: Forever by Judy Blume

Title: Forever… Author: Judy Blume Publisher: Pan Childrens Paperback: 178 Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Katherine and Michael meet at a New Year’s Eve party. They’re attracted to each other, they grow to love each other. And once they’ve decided their love is forever, they make love. It’s the beginning of an intense and exclusive relationship, with a future all planned. Until Katherine’s parents insist that she and Michael put their love to the test with a summer apart… Forever is written…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Love, Hate, and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Book Review: Love, Hate, and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Title: Love, Hate, and Other Filters Author: Samira Ahmed Publisher: Soho Teen Hardcover: 288 pages Source: ALA Annual 2017 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera. Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a “suitable” Muslim boy),…

Read More Read More