Browsed by
Tag: World War II

Book Review: The Hideout by Egon Hostovsky

Book Review: The Hideout by Egon Hostovsky

Title: The Hideout Author: Egon Hostovsky Translator: Fern Long Publisher: Pushkin Press Hardcover: 128 pages Source: NetGalley Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A kind, blundering Czech engineer is pressured by the Nazi government to hand over his invention, which could be key to their military operations. He flees to Paris, hoping to sell his invention to the French government instead; yet when the Germans invade France, he is forced into hiding, and spends months in a dark, damp cellar. Alone, he dwells on his memories –…

Read More Read More

Book Review: My Bridges of Hope by Livia Bitton-Jackson

Book Review: My Bridges of Hope by Livia Bitton-Jackson

Title: My Bridges of Hope Author: Livia Bitton-Jackson Publisher: Simon & Schuster Paperback: 378 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) In 1945, after surviving a harrowing year in Auschwitz, fourteen-year-old Elli returns, along with her mother and brother, to the family home, now part of Slovakia, where they try to find a way to rebuild their shattered lives. Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 I went into this book not really knowing what to expect — I’m not sure how it ended…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Book Review: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Title: Pachinko Author: Min Jin Lee Publisher: Grand Central Publishing Hardcover: 496 pages Source: BEA 2016 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from the Book Depository! A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them…

Read More Read More