Browsed by
Tag: World War II

Book Review: A Separate Peace by John Knowles

Book Review: A Separate Peace by John Knowles

Title: A Separate Peace Author: John Knowles Publisher: Scribner Paperback: 204 pages Source: Own Summary: (taken from Goodreads) An American classic and great bestseller for over thirty years, A Separate Peace is timeless in its description of adolescence during a period when the entire country was losing its innocence to the second world war. Set at a boys boarding school in New England during the early years of World War II, A Separate Peace is a harrowing and luminous parable of the dark side of…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Dawn by Elie Wiesel

Book Review: Dawn by Elie Wiesel

Title: Dawn Author: Elie Wiesel Translator: Frances Frenaye Publisher: Hill and Wang Paperback: 81 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Overdrive Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Elisha is a young Jewish man, a Holocaust survivor, and an Israeli freedom fighter in British-controlled Palestine; John Dawson is the captured English officer he will murder at dawn in retribution for the British execution of a fellow freedom fighter. The night-long wait for morning and death provides Dawn, Elie Wiesel’s ever more timely novel, with its harrowingly taut, hour-by-hour narrative….

Read More Read More

Book Review: Code Girls by Liza Mundy

Book Review: Code Girls by Liza Mundy

Title: Code Girls Author: Liza Mundy Publisher: Hachette Books Hardcover: 500 pages Source: NetGalley Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Recruited by the U.S. Army and Navy from small towns and elite colleges, more than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to Washington and learned the meticulous work of code-breaking. Their efforts shortened the war, saved countless lives, and gave them access to careers previously denied to them. A strict vow of…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The Hideout by Egon Hostovsky

Book Review: The Hideout by Egon Hostovsky

Title: The Hideout Author: Egon Hostovsky Translator: Fern Long Publisher: Pushkin Press Hardcover: 128 pages Source: NetGalley Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A kind, blundering Czech engineer is pressured by the Nazi government to hand over his invention, which could be key to their military operations. He flees to Paris, hoping to sell his invention to the French government instead; yet when the Germans invade France, he is forced into hiding, and spends months in a dark, damp cellar. Alone, he dwells on his memories –…

Read More Read More

Book Review: My Bridges of Hope by Livia Bitton-Jackson

Book Review: My Bridges of Hope by Livia Bitton-Jackson

Title: My Bridges of Hope Author: Livia Bitton-Jackson Publisher: Simon & Schuster Paperback: 378 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) In 1945, after surviving a harrowing year in Auschwitz, fourteen-year-old Elli returns, along with her mother and brother, to the family home, now part of Slovakia, where they try to find a way to rebuild their shattered lives. Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 I went into this book not really knowing what to expect — I’m not sure how it ended…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Book Review: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Title: Pachinko Author: Min Jin Lee Publisher: Grand Central Publishing Hardcover: 496 pages Source: BEA 2016 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from the Book Depository! A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them…

Read More Read More