Browsed by
Tag: Romance

Book Review: Triangles by Kimberly Ann Miller

Book Review: Triangles by Kimberly Ann Miller

Title: Triangles Author: Kimberly Ann Miller Series: Bermuda Triangle, Book 1 Publisher: Spencer Hill Press E-book: 216 pages Source: Own Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A cruise ship. A beautiful island. Two sexy guys. What could possibly go wrong? In the Bermuda Triangle–a lot.Hoping to leave behind the reminders of her crappy life–her fathers death years ago, her mothers medical problems, and the loser whos practically stalking her–seventeen-year-old Autumn Taylor hops on a ship with her sister for a little distraction. When she wakes up in the…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Forever by Judy Blume

Book Review: Forever by Judy Blume

Title: Forever… Author: Judy Blume Publisher: Pan Childrens Paperback: 178 Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Katherine and Michael meet at a New Year’s Eve party. They’re attracted to each other, they grow to love each other. And once they’ve decided their love is forever, they make love. It’s the beginning of an intense and exclusive relationship, with a future all planned. Until Katherine’s parents insist that she and Michael put their love to the test with a summer apart… Forever is written…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Revenge Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

Book Review: Revenge Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

Title: Revenge Wears Prada Author: Lauren Weisberger Publisher: Simon & Schuster Hardcover: 400 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Almost a decade has passed since Andy Sachs quit the job “a million girls would die for” working for Miranda Priestly at Runway magazine—a dream that turned out to be a nightmare. Andy and Emily, her former nemesis and co-assistant, have since joined forces to start a high end bridal magazine, The Plunge, which has quickly become required reading for the young and…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Love, Hate, and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Book Review: Love, Hate, and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Title: Love, Hate, and Other Filters Author: Samira Ahmed Publisher: Soho Teen Hardcover: 288 pages Source: ALA Annual 2017 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera. Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a “suitable” Muslim boy),…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Witch Ball by Linda Joy Singleton

Book Review: Witch Ball by Linda Joy Singleton

Title: Witch Ball Author: Linda Joy Singleton Publisher: Llewellyn Publications Series: Seer, Book 3 Paperback: 341 pages Source: Own Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Sabine is finally starting to feel accepted at her new high school. She’s friends with the popular girls and even has a cute boyfriend. But Sabine also has a dark secret-she’s psychic, and was forced to leave her old school after she accurately predicted the death of a football player. Volunteering with her friends to help run the psychic booth at their…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Animal Attraction by Jamie Ponti

Book Review: Animal Attraction by Jamie Ponti

Title: Animal Attraction Author: Jamie Ponti Publisher: Simon Pulse Paperback: 248 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Jane’s life is one giant Conspiracy, with the whole world plotting to keep any chance of romance far, far away. Her social history (17 years, 0 boyfriends) is proof positive of that. But this summer, she’s determined to crank it up. Jane’s snagged a gig at the local theme park as part of the star attraction—the Mermaid Show. But then the Conspiracy strikes, and she…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Holiday in the Hamptons by Sarah Morgan

Book Review: Holiday in the Hamptons by Sarah Morgan

Title: Holiday in the Hamptons Author: Sarah Morgan Publisher: Harlequin Series: From Manhattan with Love, Book 5 Paperback: 266 pages Source: Goodreads Giveaway Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Professional dog-walker Felicity Knight loves everything about New York…until her ex-husband starts working at her local vet clinic. She hasn’t seen Seth Carlyle in ten years, but one glimpse of him–too gorgeous, and still too good for her–and Fliss’s heart hurts like their whirlwind marriage ended yesterday. So when her grandmother in the Hamptons needs help for the summer,…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco

Book Review: Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco

Title: Hunting Prince Dracula Author: Kerri Maniscalco Publisher: Little, Brown & Company Series: Stalking Jack the Ripper, Book 2 Hardcover: 448 pages Source: ALA Annual 2017 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) In this hotly anticipated sequel to the haunting #1 bestseller Stalking Jack the Ripper, bizarre murders are discovered in the castle of Prince Vlad the Impaler, otherwise known as Dracula. Could it be a copycat killer…or has the depraved prince been brought back to life? Following the grief and horror of her discovery of Jack the…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Ralph the Heir by Anthony Trollope

Book Review: Ralph the Heir by Anthony Trollope

Title: Ralph the Heir Author: Anthony Trollope Publisher: Nonsuch Publishing Paperback: 544 pages Source: Open Source (Project Gutenberg) Summary: (taken from Goodreads) This novel tells a story of crossed inheritance. One Ralph Newton, a handsome ne’er-do-well, has the expectation of the family property. His cousin (also Ralph Newton) is a wholly worthy fellow, but a bastard and may not by law inherit what his father desperately wants to bequeath him. This situation provides Trollope with the occasion for a profound analysis of moral worth and…

Read More Read More

Book Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Book Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Title: When Dimple Met Rishi Author: Sandhya Menon Publisher: Simon Pulse Hardcover: 380 pages Source: ALA Annual 2017 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a…

Read More Read More