Browsed by
Tag: historical fiction

Book Review: Dawn by Elie Wiesel

Book Review: Dawn by Elie Wiesel

Title: Dawn Author: Elie Wiesel Translator: Frances Frenaye Publisher: Hill and Wang Paperback: 81 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Overdrive Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Elisha is a young Jewish man, a Holocaust survivor, and an Israeli freedom fighter in British-controlled Palestine; John Dawson is the captured English officer he will murder at dawn in retribution for the British execution of a fellow freedom fighter. The night-long wait for morning and death provides Dawn, Elie Wiesel’s ever more timely novel, with its harrowingly taut, hour-by-hour narrative….

Read More Read More

Book Review: A Spark Unseen by Sharon Cameron

Book Review: A Spark Unseen by Sharon Cameron

Title: A Spark Unseen Author: Sharon Cameron Series: The Dark Unwinding, Book 2 Publisher: Scholastic Hardcover: 335 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) When Katharine Tulman wakes in the middle of the night and accidentally foils a kidnapping attempt on her uncle, she realizes Stranwyne Keep is no longer safe for Uncle Tully and his genius inventions. She flees to Paris, where she hopes to remain undetected and also find the mysterious and handsome Lane, who is suspected to be dead. But…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The Road to Cana by Anne Rice

Book Review: The Road to Cana by Anne Rice

Title: The Road to Cana Author: Anne Rice Series: Christ the Lord, Book 2 Publisher: Knopf Publishing Group Paperback: 242 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Anne Rice’s second book in her hugely ambitious and courageous life of Christ begins during his last winter before his baptism in the Jordan and concludes with the miracle at Cana. It is a novel in which we see Jesus—he is called Yeshua bar Joseph—during a winter of no rain, endless dust, and talk of trouble in…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Wild Seed by Octavia E. Butler

Book Review: Wild Seed by Octavia E. Butler

Title: Wild Seed Author: Octavia E. Butler Series: Patternist, Book 1 Publisher: Grand Central Publishing Paperback: 320 pages Source: Own Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Doro is an entity who changes bodies like clothes, killing his hosts by reflex or design. He fears no one until he meets Anyanwu. Anyanwu is a shapeshifter who can absorb bullets and heal with a kiss and savage anyone who threatens her. She fears no one until she meets Doro. Together they weave a pattern of destiny (from Africa to the…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco

Book Review: Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco

Title: Hunting Prince Dracula Author: Kerri Maniscalco Publisher: Little, Brown & Company Series: Stalking Jack the Ripper, Book 2 Hardcover: 448 pages Source: ALA Annual 2017 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) In this hotly anticipated sequel to the haunting #1 bestseller Stalking Jack the Ripper, bizarre murders are discovered in the castle of Prince Vlad the Impaler, otherwise known as Dracula. Could it be a copycat killer…or has the depraved prince been brought back to life? Following the grief and horror of her discovery of Jack the…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The Unquiet Grave by Sharyn McCrumb

Book Review: The Unquiet Grave by Sharyn McCrumb

Title: The Unquiet Grave Author: Sharyn McCrumb Publisher: Atria Books Hardcover: 368 pages Source: NetGalley Summary: (taken from Goodreads) The Greenbrier Ghost is renowned in American folklore, but Sharyn McCrumb is the first author to look beneath the legend to unearth the facts. Using a century of genealogical material and other historical documents, McCrumb reveals new information about the story and brings to life the personalities in the trial: the prosecutor, a former Confederate cavalryman; the defense attorney, a pro-Union bridgeburner, who nevertheless had owned…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Better to Wish by Ann M. Martin

Book Review: Better to Wish by Ann M. Martin

Title: Better to Wish Author: Ann M. Martin Series: Family Tree, Book 1 Publisher: Scholastic Hardcover: 226 pages Source: Chicago OverDrive Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from The Book Depository In 1930, Abby Nichols is eight, and can’t imagine what her future holds. The best things today would be having a dime for the fair, keeping her Pops from being angry, and saving up eighty-seven cents to surprise her little sister with a tea set for Christmas. But Abby’s world is changing fast. Soon there will be…

Read More Read More

Wishlist Wednesday #7: A Monstrous Regiment of Women by Laurie R. King

Wishlist Wednesday #7: A Monstrous Regiment of Women by Laurie R. King

This meme was created by Pen to Paper. Each week we will share a book that has been recently added to our wishlist or has been on it for ages. I’m taking this loosely and sharing books that I can’t wait to read. I recently finished The Beekeeper’s Apprentice and was thrilled to learn that it was the start of a series featuring an intelligent young woman named Mary Russell who stumbles into becoming Sherlock Holmes’s apprentice. It’s one of…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The Hideout by Egon Hostovsky

Book Review: The Hideout by Egon Hostovsky

Title: The Hideout Author: Egon Hostovsky Translator: Fern Long Publisher: Pushkin Press Hardcover: 128 pages Source: NetGalley Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A kind, blundering Czech engineer is pressured by the Nazi government to hand over his invention, which could be key to their military operations. He flees to Paris, hoping to sell his invention to the French government instead; yet when the Germans invade France, he is forced into hiding, and spends months in a dark, damp cellar. Alone, he dwells on his memories –…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Book Review: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Title: Pachinko Author: Min Jin Lee Publisher: Grand Central Publishing Hardcover: 496 pages Source: BEA 2016 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from the Book Depository! A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them…

Read More Read More