Browsed by
Tag: historical fiction

Wishlist Wednesday #7: A Monstrous Regiment of Women by Laurie R. King

Wishlist Wednesday #7: A Monstrous Regiment of Women by Laurie R. King

This meme was created by Pen to Paper. Each week we will share a book that has been recently added to our wishlist or has been on it for ages. I’m taking this loosely and sharing books that I can’t wait to read. I recently finished The Beekeeper’s Apprentice and was thrilled to learn that it was the start of a series featuring an intelligent young woman named Mary Russell who stumbles into becoming Sherlock Holmes’s apprentice. It’s one of…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The Hideout by Egon Hostovsky

Book Review: The Hideout by Egon Hostovsky

Title: The Hideout Author: Egon Hostovsky Translator: Fern Long Publisher: Pushkin Press Hardcover: 128 pages Source: NetGalley Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A kind, blundering Czech engineer is pressured by the Nazi government to hand over his invention, which could be key to their military operations. He flees to Paris, hoping to sell his invention to the French government instead; yet when the Germans invade France, he is forced into hiding, and spends months in a dark, damp cellar. Alone, he dwells on his memories –…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Book Review: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Title: Pachinko Author: Min Jin Lee Publisher: Grand Central Publishing Hardcover: 496 pages Source: BEA 2016 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from the Book Depository! A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

Book Review: Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

Title: Stalking Jack the Ripper Author: Kerri Maniscalco Series: Stalking Jack the Ripper, Book 1 Publisher: Jimmy Patterson Hardcover: 326 pages Source: BEA 2016 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life. Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice…

Read More Read More

Audiobook Review: Dodger by Terry Pratchett

Audiobook Review: Dodger by Terry Pratchett

Title: Dodger Author: Terry Pratchett Narrator: Stephen Briggs Publisher: HarperCollins Running Time: 10 hours, 31 minutes Source: Download from the Audiobook Sync program Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A storm. Rain-lashed city streets. A flash of lightning. A scruffy lad sees a girl leap desperately from a horse-drawn carriage in a vain attempt to escape her captors. Can the lad stand by and let her be caught again? Of course not, because he’s…Dodger. Seventeen-year-old Dodger may be a street urchin, but he gleans a living from London’s…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Summer of Lost and Found by Rebecca Behrens

Book Review: Summer of Lost and Found by Rebecca Behrens

  Title: Summer of Lost and Found Author: Rebecca Behrens Publisher: Aladdin/Simon & Schuster Hardcover: 288 pages Source: NetGalley Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Nell Dare expected to spend her summer vacation hanging out with her friends in New York City. That is, until her botanist mom dragged her all the way to Roanoke Island for a research trip. To make matters worse, her father suddenly and mysteriously leaves town, leaving no explanation or clues as to where he went—or why. While Nell misses the city—and…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The Dark Unwinding by Sharon Cameron

Book Review: The Dark Unwinding by Sharon Cameron

Title: The Dark Unwinding Author: Sharon Cameron Series: The Dark Unwinding, Book 1 Publisher: Scholastic Hardcover: 318 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) When Katharine Tulman’s inheritance is called into question by the rumor that her eccentric uncle is squandering away the family fortune, she is sent to his estate to have him committed to an asylum. But instead of a lunatic, Katharine discovers a genius inventor with his own set of rules, who employs a village…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan

Book Review: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan

Title: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan Author: Lisa See Publisher: RandomHouse Kindle: 288 pages Source: Chicago OverDrive Summary: (taken from Goodreads) In nineteenth-century China, in a remote Hunan county, a girl named Lily, at the tender age of seven, is paired with a laotong, “old same,” in an emotional match that will last a lifetime. The laotong, Snow Flower, introduces herself by sending Lily a silk fan on which she’s painted a poem in nu shu, a unique language that Chinese women created…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Palace of Spies by Sarah Zettel

Book Review: Palace of Spies by Sarah Zettel

Title: Palace of Spies Author: Sarah Zettel Series: Palace of Spies, Book 1 Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers Hardcover: 368 pages Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A warning to all young ladies of delicate breeding who wish to embark upon lives of adventure: Don’t Sixteen-year-old Peggy is a well-bred orphan who is coerced into posing as a lady in waiting at the palace of King George I. Life is grand, until Peggy starts to suspect that the girl she’s impersonating…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The Color Purple by Alice Walker

Book Review: The Color Purple by Alice Walker

Title: The Color Purple Author: Alice Walker Publisher: Pocket Paperback: 295 pages Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Celie is a poor black woman whose letters tell the story of 20 years of her life, beginning at age 14 when she is being abused and raped by her father and attempting to protect her sister from the same fate, and continuing over the course of her marriage to “Mister,” a brutal man who terrorizes her. Celie eventually learns that her abusive husband has…

Read More Read More