Browsed by
Tag: contemporary

Book Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Book Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Title: When Dimple Met Rishi Author: Sandhya Menon Publisher: Simon Pulse Hardcover: 380 pages Source: ALA Annual 2017 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a…

Read More Read More

Wishlist Wednesday #8: The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling

Wishlist Wednesday #8: The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling

This meme was created by Pen to Paper. Each week we will share a book that has been recently added to our wishlist or has been on it for ages. I’m taking this loosely and sharing books that I can’t wait to read. I know I’m going to be disappointed by this, and it’s taking me a long time to get to The Casual Vacancy because of that, but I just can’t let a book by JK Rowling be left…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Invincible Summer by Alice Adams

Book Review: Invincible Summer by Alice Adams

Title: Invincible Summer Author: Alice Adams Publisher: Little, Brown Hardcover: 308 pages Source: BEA 2016 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from The Book Depository Four friends. Twenty years. One unexpected journey. Inseparable throughout college, Eva, Benedict, Sylvie, and Lucien graduate in 1997, into an exhilarating world on the brink of a new millennium. Hopelessly in love with playboy Lucien and eager to shrug off the socialist politics of her upbringing, Eva breaks away to work for a big bank. Benedict, a budding scientist who’s…

Read More Read More

Wishlist Wednesday #2: What’s Bred in the Bone by Robertson Davies

Wishlist Wednesday #2: What’s Bred in the Bone by Robertson Davies

This meme was created by Pen to Paper. Each week we will share a book that has been recently added to our wishlist or has been on it for ages. I’m taking this loosely and sharing books that I can’t wait to read. I just finished the first of The Cornish Trilogy: Rebel Angels, and What’s Bred in the Bone continues the series. It’s almost a prequel, because it details the “biography” of someone who dies right off in the…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Meantime by Katharine Noel

Book Review: Meantime by Katharine Noel

Title: Meantime Author: Katharine Noel Publisher: Grove Press, Black Cat Paperback: 288 pages Source: BEA 2016 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from The Book Depository Claire has never had a typical family. When she was nine, her father fell in love with a married woman, and the two households agreed to live under one roof. Nicknamed “the Naked Family,” they were infamous in the community for their eccentric, free-spirited lifestyle. Now, her stepsister Nicole has set her mind to having a baby on her…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The One That Got Away by Leigh Himes

Book Review: The One That Got Away by Leigh Himes

Title: The One That Got Away Author: Leigh Himes Publisher: Hachette Hardcover: 384 pages Source: BookCon Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Meet Abbey Lahey . . . Overworked mom. Underappreciated publicist. Frazzled wife of an out-of-work landscaper. A woman desperately in need of a vacation from life–and who is about to get one, thanks to an unexpected tumble down a Nordstrom escalator. Meet Abbey van Holt . . . The woman whose life Abbey suddenly finds herself inhabiting when she wakes up. Married to handsome congressional…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Things I Should Have Known by Claire LaZebnik

Book Review: Things I Should Have Known by Claire LaZebnik

Title: Things I Should Have Known Author: Claire LaZebnik Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcout Paperback: 320 pages Source: NetGalley Summary: (taken from Goodreads) From the author of Epic Fail comes the story of Chloe Mitchell, a Los Angeles girl on a quest to find love for her autistic sister, Ivy. Ethan, from Ivy’s class, seems like the perfect match. It’s unfortunate that his older brother, David, is one of Chloe’s least favorite people, but Chloe can deal, especially when she realizes that David is just as…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Book Review: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Title: Pachinko Author: Min Jin Lee Publisher: Grand Central Publishing Hardcover: 496 pages Source: BEA 2016 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from the Book Depository! A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Fruit of the Lemon by Andrea Levy

Book Review: Fruit of the Lemon by Andrea Levy

Title: Fruit of the Lemon Author: Andrea Levy Publisher: Picador Paperback: 339 pages Source: Own Summary: (taken from Goodreads) From Andrea Levy, author of Small Island and winner of the Whitbread Book of the Year and the Best of the Best Orange Prize, comes a story of one woman and two islands. Faith Jackson knows little about her parents’ lives before they moved to England. Happy to be starting her first job in the costume department at BBC television, and to be sharing a house…

Read More Read More

Review: The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

Review: The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

Title: The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian Author: Sherman Alexie Illustrator: Ellen Forney Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Hardcover: 230 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Bestselling author Sherman Alexie tells the story of Junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation. Determined to take his future into his own hands, Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all-white farm town high school where the only…

Read More Read More