Browsed by
Tag: contemporary

Book Review: Triangles by Kimberly Ann Miller

Book Review: Triangles by Kimberly Ann Miller

Title: Triangles Author: Kimberly Ann Miller Series: Bermuda Triangle, Book 1 Publisher: Spencer Hill Press E-book: 216 pages Source: Own Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A cruise ship. A beautiful island. Two sexy guys. What could possibly go wrong? In the Bermuda Triangle–a lot.Hoping to leave behind the reminders of her crappy life–her fathers death years ago, her mothers medical problems, and the loser whos practically stalking her–seventeen-year-old Autumn Taylor hops on a ship with her sister for a little distraction. When she wakes up in the…

Read More Read More

Audiobook Review: The Music of Dolphins by Karen Hesse

Audiobook Review: The Music of Dolphins by Karen Hesse

Title: The Music of Dolphins Author: Karen Hesse Narrator: Michele McHall Publisher: Penguin Random House Audio Duration: 2 hours, 49 minutes Source: County of Los Angeles Overdrive Summary: (taken from Goodreads) At the age of four, Mila fell rom a refugee craft and was lost in the ocean between Cuba and Florida. Until her rescue eight years later, she lived as a wild child of the sea. As Mila now learns to communicate and deal with the complexities of human feelings, she develops an understanding…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Rebel Bully Geek Pariah by Erin Jade Lange

Book Review: Rebel Bully Geek Pariah by Erin Jade Lange

Title: Rebel Bully Geek Pariah Author: Erin Jade Lange Publisher: Bloomsbury Hardcover: 320 pages Source: Goodreads Giveaways Summary: (taken from Goodreads) “The Breakfast Club” gets a modern, high-stakes reboot in this story of four very different teens and a night that changes them forever. The Rebel: Once popular, Andi is now a dreadlocked, tattooed wild child. The Bully: York torments everyone who crosses his path, especially his younger brother. The Geek: Tired of being bullied, Boston is obsessed with getting into an Ivy League college….

Read More Read More

Book Review: Forever by Judy Blume

Book Review: Forever by Judy Blume

Title: Forever… Author: Judy Blume Publisher: Pan Childrens Paperback: 178 Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Katherine and Michael meet at a New Year’s Eve party. They’re attracted to each other, they grow to love each other. And once they’ve decided their love is forever, they make love. It’s the beginning of an intense and exclusive relationship, with a future all planned. Until Katherine’s parents insist that she and Michael put their love to the test with a summer apart… Forever is written…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Revenge Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

Book Review: Revenge Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

Title: Revenge Wears Prada Author: Lauren Weisberger Publisher: Simon & Schuster Hardcover: 400 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Almost a decade has passed since Andy Sachs quit the job “a million girls would die for” working for Miranda Priestly at Runway magazine—a dream that turned out to be a nightmare. Andy and Emily, her former nemesis and co-assistant, have since joined forces to start a high end bridal magazine, The Plunge, which has quickly become required reading for the young and…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Love, Hate, and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Book Review: Love, Hate, and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Title: Love, Hate, and Other Filters Author: Samira Ahmed Publisher: Soho Teen Hardcover: 288 pages Source: ALA Annual 2017 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera. Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a “suitable” Muslim boy),…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin

Book Review: The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin

Title: The Immortalists Author: Chloe Benjamin Publisher: GP Putnam’s Sons Hardcover: 352 pages Source: Netgalley Summary: (taken from Goodreads) If you were told the date of your death, how would it shape your present? It’s 1969 in New York City’s Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children—four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness—sneak out to hear their fortunes. Their…

Read More Read More

Favorite Books of 2017

Favorite Books of 2017

2017 was a stellar reading year for both Andrew and me. We read a combined total of 200+ books and loved so many of them! One of my favorite parts of reading is sharing books I love with others and telling my friends and family which books THEY NEED TO READ! Andrew and I often recommend our favorite books to each other, and here we are now, recommending our favorite reads of this year to you. Maybe you’ll find a…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The Authentics by Abdi Nazemian

Book Review: The Authentics by Abdi Nazemian

Title: The Authentics Author: Abdi Nazemian Publisher: Balzer & Bray Hardcover: 288 pages Source: Goodreads Giveaway Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A fresh, funny, and thought-provoking debut YA novel about a fifteen-year-old Iranian-American named Daria, who is launched on a journey of self-discovery when she discovers she was adopted. Daria Esfandyar is Iranian-American and proud of her heritage, unlike some of the “Nose Jobs” in the clique led by her former best friend, Heidi Javadi. Daria and her friends call themselves the Authentics, because they pride…

Read More Read More

Wishlist Wednesday #25: Best Kept Secret by Ann M. Martin

Wishlist Wednesday #25: Best Kept Secret by Ann M. Martin

This meme was created by Pen to Paper. Each week we will share a book that has been recently added to our wishlist or has been on it for ages. I started this new series from Ann M. Martin this year, and it’s been very good! I didn’t realize how much I’ve missed having Martin in my life. It’s a great contemporary middle school series that goes through family stories generation by generation. I’m excited to read what happens next…

Read More Read More