Browsed by
Tag: BEA 2016

Book Review: Invincible Summer by Alice Adams

Book Review: Invincible Summer by Alice Adams

Title: Invincible Summer Author: Alice Adams Publisher: Little, Brown Hardcover: 308 pages Source: BEA 2016 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from The Book Depository Four friends. Twenty years. One unexpected journey. Inseparable throughout college, Eva, Benedict, Sylvie, and Lucien graduate in 1997, into an exhilarating world on the brink of a new millennium. Hopelessly in love with playboy Lucien and eager to shrug off the socialist politics of her upbringing, Eva breaks away to work for a big bank. Benedict, a budding scientist who’s…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Meantime by Katharine Noel

Book Review: Meantime by Katharine Noel

Title: Meantime Author: Katharine Noel Publisher: Grove Press, Black Cat Paperback: 288 pages Source: BEA 2016 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from The Book Depository Claire has never had a typical family. When she was nine, her father fell in love with a married woman, and the two households agreed to live under one roof. Nicknamed “the Naked Family,” they were infamous in the community for their eccentric, free-spirited lifestyle. Now, her stepsister Nicole has set her mind to having a baby on her…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Maresi by Maria Turtschaninoff

Book Review: Maresi by Maria Turtschaninoff

Title: Maresi Author: Maria Turtschaninoff Series: The Red Abbey Chronicles, Book 1 Publisher: Amulet Books Hardcover: 256 pages Source: BEA 2016 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from The Book Depository Only women and girls are allowed in the Red Abbey, a haven from abuse and oppression. Thirteen-year-old novice Maresi arrived at the Abbey four years ago, during the hunger winter, and now lives a happy life under the protection of the Mother. Maresi spends her days reading in the Knowledge House, caring for the younger…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The One That Got Away by Leigh Himes

Book Review: The One That Got Away by Leigh Himes

Title: The One That Got Away Author: Leigh Himes Publisher: Hachette Hardcover: 384 pages Source: BookCon Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Meet Abbey Lahey . . . Overworked mom. Underappreciated publicist. Frazzled wife of an out-of-work landscaper. A woman desperately in need of a vacation from life–and who is about to get one, thanks to an unexpected tumble down a Nordstrom escalator. Meet Abbey van Holt . . . The woman whose life Abbey suddenly finds herself inhabiting when she wakes up. Married to handsome congressional…

Read More Read More

Book Review: One Paris Summer by Denise Grover Swank

Book Review: One Paris Summer by Denise Grover Swank

Title: One Paris Summer Author: Denise Grover Swank Publisher: Blink Paperback: 272 pages Source: BEA 2016 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Most teens dream of visiting the City of Lights, but it feels more like a nightmare for Sophie Brooks. She and her brother are sent to Paris to spend the summer with their father, who left home a year ago without any explanation. As if his sudden abandonment weren’t betrayal enough, he’s about to remarry, and they’re expected to play nice with his soon-to-be…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Book Review: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Title: Pachinko Author: Min Jin Lee Publisher: Grand Central Publishing Hardcover: 496 pages Source: BEA 2016 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from the Book Depository! A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

Book Review: Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

Title: Stalking Jack the Ripper Author: Kerri Maniscalco Series: Stalking Jack the Ripper, Book 1 Publisher: Jimmy Patterson Hardcover: 326 pages Source: BEA 2016 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life. Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice…

Read More Read More