Browsed by
Tag: 4.5 stars

Book Review: Chronicles of Chrestomanci, Vol 2 by Diana Wynne Jones

Book Review: Chronicles of Chrestomanci, Vol 2 by Diana Wynne Jones

Title: Chronicles of Chrestomanci, Vol 2 Author: Diana Wynne Jones Series: Chrestomanci, 3-4 Publisher: Greenwillow Books Paperback: 560 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from The Book Depository In this multiple parallel universes of the Twelve Related Worlds, only an enchanter with nine lives is powerful enough to control the rampant misuse of magic — and to hold the title Chrestomanci… There is a world in which the peaceful city-state of Caprona is threatened by the malevolent machinations of a mysterious enchanter…and another…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Revenge Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

Book Review: Revenge Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

Title: Revenge Wears Prada Author: Lauren Weisberger Publisher: Simon & Schuster Hardcover: 400 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Almost a decade has passed since Andy Sachs quit the job “a million girls would die for” working for Miranda Priestly at Runway magazine—a dream that turned out to be a nightmare. Andy and Emily, her former nemesis and co-assistant, have since joined forces to start a high end bridal magazine, The Plunge, which has quickly become required reading for the young and…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Love, Hate, and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Book Review: Love, Hate, and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Title: Love, Hate, and Other Filters Author: Samira Ahmed Publisher: Soho Teen Hardcover: 288 pages Source: ALA Annual 2017 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera. Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a “suitable” Muslim boy),…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid by Colin Meloy

Book Review: The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid by Colin Meloy

Title: The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid Author: Colin Meloy Publisher: Balzer & Bray Hardcover: 432 pages Source: ALA Annual 2017 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) From the creators of the New York Times bestselling Wildwood Chronicles comes an original, humorous, and fast-paced middle grade novel about a band of child pickpockets—imagine The Invention of Hugo Cabret meets Oliver Twist. It is an ordinary Tuesday morning in April when bored, lonely Charlie Fisher witnesses something incredible. Right before his eyes, in a busy square in…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King

Book Review: The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King

Title: The Beekeeper’s Apprentice Author: Laurie R. King Publisher: Bantam Series: Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes, Book 1 Paperback: 341 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Long retired, Sherlock Holmes quietly pursues his study of honeybee behavior on the Sussex Downs. He never imagines he would encounter anyone whose intellect matched his own, much less an audacious teenage girl with a penchant for detection. Miss Mary Russell becomes Holmes’ pupil and quickly hones her talent for deduction, disguises and danger. But when…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Apex by Mercedes Lackey

Book Review: Apex by Mercedes Lackey

Title: Apex Author: Mercedes Lackey Series: Hunter, Book 3 Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Hardcover: 304 pages Source: Own Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from The Book Depository Being a member of the Elite Hunter Command imperils Joy in more ways than one. In their latest clash with Othersiders, the army of monsters nearly wiped them out. Apex City is safe . . . for now. But within the city barriers, Joy must wage a different kind of war. The corrupt and powerful PsiCorps is determined to usurp the…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Wild Seed by Octavia E. Butler

Book Review: Wild Seed by Octavia E. Butler

Title: Wild Seed Author: Octavia E. Butler Series: Patternist, Book 1 Publisher: Grand Central Publishing Paperback: 320 pages Source: Own Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Doro is an entity who changes bodies like clothes, killing his hosts by reflex or design. He fears no one until he meets Anyanwu. Anyanwu is a shapeshifter who can absorb bullets and heal with a kiss and savage anyone who threatens her. She fears no one until she meets Doro. Together they weave a pattern of destiny (from Africa to the…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The Power of Three by Diana Wynne Jones

Book Review: The Power of Three by Diana Wynne Jones

Title: The Power of Three Author: Diana Wynne Jones Publisher: Greenwillow Books Paperback: 336 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Ayna could predict the future. Cari could find what was lost. Gair thought he was ordinary. The three children of Gest, the chief of Garholt, know the perils of the Moor on which they live. The Dorig, their people’s enemies, are cold-blooded, fierce underwater creatures who terrify anyone unlucky enough to happen upon them. The Giants are dangerous and violent. But it’s…

Read More Read More

Book Review: All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

Book Review: All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

Title: All Our Yesterdays Author: Cristin Terrill Publisher: Disney Hyperion Hardcover: 360 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) What would you change? Imprisoned in the heart of a secret military base, Em has nothing except the voice of the boy in the cell next door and the list of instructions she finds taped inside the drain. Only Em can complete the final instruction. She’s tried everything to prevent the creation of a time machine that will tear the world apart. She holds…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Fruit of the Lemon by Andrea Levy

Book Review: Fruit of the Lemon by Andrea Levy

Title: Fruit of the Lemon Author: Andrea Levy Publisher: Picador Paperback: 339 pages Source: Own Summary: (taken from Goodreads) From Andrea Levy, author of Small Island and winner of the Whitbread Book of the Year and the Best of the Best Orange Prize, comes a story of one woman and two islands. Faith Jackson knows little about her parents’ lives before they moved to England. Happy to be starting her first job in the costume department at BBC television, and to be sharing a house…

Read More Read More