Wishlist Wednesday #29: Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce

Wishlist Wednesday #29: Tempests and Slaughter by Tamora Pierce

This meme was created by Pen to Paper. Each week we will share a book that has been recently added to our wishlist or has been on it for ages. Tamora Pierce has long been a favorite of mine, and I’m excited to see that she’s working on a Tortall Universe series about Numair. This brings me right back into adolescent excitement and I can’t wait to read this. It releases in just under a week!!! Title: Tempests and Slaughter…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Gates of Paradise by Melissa de la Cruz

Book Review: Gates of Paradise by Melissa de la Cruz

Title: Gates of Paradise Author: Melissa de la Cruz Series: Blue Bloods, Book 7 Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Hardcover: 355 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from The Book Depository Schuyler Van Alen is running out of time. The Dark Prince of Hell is storming the Gates of Paradise, intent on winning the heavenly throne for good. This time he has his greatest angels by his side, Abbadon and Azrael—Jack and Mimi Force, as they are known in the Coven. Or so he thinks….

Read More Read More

Book Review: Chronicles of Chrestomanci, Vol 2 by Diana Wynne Jones

Book Review: Chronicles of Chrestomanci, Vol 2 by Diana Wynne Jones

Title: Chronicles of Chrestomanci, Vol 2 Author: Diana Wynne Jones Series: Chrestomanci, 3-4 Publisher: Greenwillow Books Paperback: 560 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from The Book Depository In this multiple parallel universes of the Twelve Related Worlds, only an enchanter with nine lives is powerful enough to control the rampant misuse of magic — and to hold the title Chrestomanci… There is a world in which the peaceful city-state of Caprona is threatened by the malevolent machinations of a mysterious enchanter…and another…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Forever by Judy Blume

Book Review: Forever by Judy Blume

Title: Forever… Author: Judy Blume Publisher: Pan Childrens Paperback: 178 Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Katherine and Michael meet at a New Year’s Eve party. They’re attracted to each other, they grow to love each other. And once they’ve decided their love is forever, they make love. It’s the beginning of an intense and exclusive relationship, with a future all planned. Until Katherine’s parents insist that she and Michael put their love to the test with a summer apart… Forever is written…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Revenge Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

Book Review: Revenge Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

Title: Revenge Wears Prada Author: Lauren Weisberger Publisher: Simon & Schuster Hardcover: 400 pages Source: Chicago Public Library Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Almost a decade has passed since Andy Sachs quit the job “a million girls would die for” working for Miranda Priestly at Runway magazine—a dream that turned out to be a nightmare. Andy and Emily, her former nemesis and co-assistant, have since joined forces to start a high end bridal magazine, The Plunge, which has quickly become required reading for the young and…

Read More Read More

The 365 Commenting Challenge Sign Up

The 365 Commenting Challenge Sign Up

And here I am, signing up for another challenge kind of late, but better late than never! This one is kind of different — instead of challenging myself to read more or read certain books, I’m challenging myself to be more active in the blogger community! The goal is to visit and comment on 365 blogs throughout the year. I always try to get to a blog or two every day, but this way, I’m more motivated to keep on…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Love, Hate, and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Book Review: Love, Hate, and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Title: Love, Hate, and Other Filters Author: Samira Ahmed Publisher: Soho Teen Hardcover: 288 pages Source: ALA Annual 2017 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera. Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a “suitable” Muslim boy),…

Read More Read More

Book Review: Waking the Witch by Kelley Armstrong

Book Review: Waking the Witch by Kelley Armstrong

Title: Waking the Witch Author: Kelley Armstrong Series: Women of the Otherworld, Book 11 Publisher: Dutton Adult Hardcover: 309 pages Source: Chicago OverDrive Summary: (taken from Goodreads) Buy from The Book Depository At twenty-one, Savannah Levine-orphaned daughter of a notorious dark witch and an equally notorious cutthroat sorcerer-considers herself a full-fledged member of the otherworld. The once rebellious teen has grown into a six-foot-tall, motorcycle-riding jaw-dropper, with an impressive knowledge of and ability to perform spells. The only problem is, she’s having a hard time convincing her…

Read More Read More

A to Z Challenge Sign Up Post

A to Z Challenge Sign Up Post

I’m very silly and so far behind in looking at reading challenges, that I’m just now deciding what I want to do for the year. It doesn’t help that there are so many challenges out there and they all look so fun! But, this one appeals to the organizer in me. Ginger Mom is hosting it this year, and the goal is to read one book for every letter of the alphabet. You can sign up too! Let’s get to it!…

Read More Read More

Book Review: The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid by Colin Meloy

Book Review: The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid by Colin Meloy

Title: The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid Author: Colin Meloy Publisher: Balzer & Bray Hardcover: 432 pages Source: ALA Annual 2017 Summary: (taken from Goodreads) From the creators of the New York Times bestselling Wildwood Chronicles comes an original, humorous, and fast-paced middle grade novel about a band of child pickpockets—imagine The Invention of Hugo Cabret meets Oliver Twist. It is an ordinary Tuesday morning in April when bored, lonely Charlie Fisher witnesses something incredible. Right before his eyes, in a busy square in…

Read More Read More